Regional Nodes

View the page for the United Nations Environmental Progam Mediterranean Action Plan:
Coordinating Unit for the Mediterranean Action Plan Secretariat to the Barcelona Convention and its Protocols

The 22 Contracting Parties to the Barcelona Convention are: Albania, Algeria, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Croatia, Cyprus, Egypt, France, Greece, Israel, Italy, Lebanon, Libya, Malta, Monaco, Montenegro, Morocco, Slovenia, Spain, Syrian Arab Republic, Tunisia, Turkey, and the European Union.

The Barcelona Convention as well as each of its Protocols are subject to ratification, acceptance, approval, or accession. The Government of Spain, which assumes the functions of Depositary for the Convention and Protocols, informs the Contracting Parties and the Secretariat of the deposit of instruments of ratification, acceptance, approval, or accession, and of the date of entry into force of the Convention, Protocols, or their amendments.

Status of Signatures and Ratifications of the Barcelona Convention and its Protocols
Last notification received: 13 February 2018

Click on map to view country’s status of ratification

Recent Publications

2017 Mediterranean Quality Status Report

Leave a Comment